Potty training rescue dog

Carolina Girl

I rescued Ozzy last week from a kill shelter. It was his last day.....I could not resist him! He is for sure NOT potty trained but will use it outside when I take him out. I am a teacher and have been at home with him everyday, so I can take him out as often as I like. Over the weekend, we tried out a crate. I assumed I would use one when I went back to work next week. I figured I would start out putting him in 30 minutes to an hour at first. I put him in and he freaked out! As soon as I shut the door, he peed. He was flipping over and going crazy. He was not barking but making this moaning sound like someone was hurting him. His eyes got huge and he just had this terrible look on his face. I let him out right away. Now, here is my question: I will be going back to work next week. I thought that I would use a crate while away. I realize that I just can't do that to him. What should I do? Leave him out? Leave out puppy pads? I am new to this and not sure what else I can do. Help!

kcsheperd

What a great thing you did! Ozzy is thanking his lucky stars that you saved him!;)

Do you have a kitchen or laundry room that you could put him in with a baby gate? I work full time as well, and Payslee & Sawyer stay in the kitchen while I'm at work. I put a pallet down for them and they just rest the whole time I'm gone. I used to put potty pads down, but they never used them, and now they just wait till I get home to go outside..Its worked great for me, that way they are not so confined, and can stretch out if they want. Would that be a possibility?

Carolina Girl

I do have a laundry room. (or the kitchen) I have this vision of him peeing and pooping and rolling all in it, and me coming home everyday to a poopy-pee-pee dog! I know that sounds ridiculous......He doesn't seem to get the "poop and pee-pee are not for playing with" concept. I guess he has never been taught.