Re-routing house breaking to outdoors

My Rudy is now a whole 7 months old and as beautiful and loving as can be. However, we just haven't had much luck with the potty training. I was trying to train Rudy to use the puppy pad in the ugodog. After all this time, he will very seldomly use it. I did notice that Rudy always goes in the grass the minute he comes outside though so I think this is the way we need to go with getting him completely house broken. Maybe he learned from our other dog (a jack russell terrier) to do it this way. So anyway, I want to make sure I am doing this correctly so he knows this is how we want him to do this from now on. I will bring a treat with me outside and award him as soon as he goes, then take him directly back inside? (seems simple enough? right). Can I eventually expect him to alert me that he needs to go outside?

Has anyone else tried indoors and it didn't work? Rudy is my first indoor dog that I've had to house break so I'm fairly new to this.

Edited by HollynLA
ShihTzuholic

I am working on getting Gizmo to go outside too. He used puppy pads up to this point, and the past few weeks we have been making him go outside. I probably take him out every hour or two. He has been doing good, only having a few accidents. I am wondering the same thing about getting them to alert you. I am just consistent in taking him out in case he has to go. I can't tell if he goes every time or not. It would be nice if he would signal that he has to go instead of me taking him out all the time.

FairyTail Josette

I don't know know of anyone that has used the ugodog with success. My Shih Tzu and friend's dogs will use pee pads, but, not a ugodog. Re: ugodog, I'm not sure if it's the tray they're afraid to stand on or what.